Nairobi National Park ToursAn Independent Guide Check Availability

Nairobi National Park and Elephant Orphanage Tour

  • 6 hoursDuration
  • 4.6 · 631Reviews on GetYourGuide
  • From $40per person
  • Free cancellation 24hCancellation
Quick answer The short answer

This Nairobi National Park and elephant orphanage tour costs $40 per person for about 6 hours, rated 4.6 from 631 GetYourGuide reviews. The Sheldrick visit fits the Trust's fixed 11am to 12 noon public window, and the Giraffe Centre stop follows. Every entry fee is extra: $80 per adult for the park, $20 for the orphanage and about $15 for the Giraffe Centre.

Key takeaways

Two lionesses lying on a park signpost pointing to Wilson Airport Plains, Hyena Dam and Nagolomon Dam
4.6★631 reviews
$40per person
6 hoursduration
Freecancellation 24
Check Availability

Sold and operated by Gracilie Ventures. Booked and paid through GetYourGuide. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you. Compare all Nairobi National Park tours

This Nairobi National Park and elephant orphanage tour costs $40 per person and runs about 6 hours with Gracilie Ventures on GetYourGuide, rated 4.6 from 631 reviews. One van day covers a roughly 4-hour game drive in the park, the 11am baby-elephant hour at the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the Giraffe Centre, with an audio guide in English, French and Spanish. The tour price covers the vehicle, guide, water and Nairobi pickup. Every entry fee is paid separately on the day: the KWS park fee, the orphanage entry and the Giraffe Centre entry. This page breaks down those fees, the fixed Sheldrick window and how the group size affects your window seat. For how this listing sits against the others, start with our comparison of Nairobi National Park tours.

About This Tour

Gracilie Ventures sells this day on GetYourGuide at $40 per person. The listing states 6 hours, a safari vehicle with a pop-up roof, a professional guide and bottled water, with pickup and drop-off in Nairobi. It carries an audio guide in English, French and Spanish, and a French or Spanish live guide costs $15 per booking.

Three stops are built in: about 4 hours of game driving in Nairobi National Park, about 80 minutes at the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust for the baby-elephant visit, and about 1.5 hours at the Giraffe Centre. An optional Kazuri Beads workshop stop of 45 minutes and an optional 1-hour lunch sit between them. None of the entry fees are in the $40.

Price
$40 per person. It covers the safari vehicle with pop-up roof, the guide, bottled water and Nairobi pickup and drop-off. Entry fees are not covered.
Length
The listing states 6 hours. With the 4-hour game drive, the 80-minute Sheldrick visit, the 1.5-hour Giraffe Centre stop and two optional add-ons, expect the day to run close to that figure or longer if you take the extras.
Park fee
Not included. KWS charges non-residents $80 per adult and $40 per child for Nairobi National Park entry, paid separately. The listing says cash, but KWS takes visitor payment through the KWSPay portal, so confirm with the operator before the day.
Vehicle and group
Shared safari van with a pop-up roof. The listing allows up to 100 people, so it is not a small-group product and a window seat is not guaranteed.
Pickup
Pickup included in Nairobi. The listing does not state exact pickup times or excluded areas, so check availability for the details.
Cancellation
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund, and reserve now and pay later.

Check Dates and Availability

The listing shows starting times once you pick a date. Cancellation stays free until 24 hours before the start.

Powered by GetYourGuide

How the Day Runs

The listing's own itinerary moves from a Nairobi pickup to the park, then the elephants, then the giraffes, with two optional stops in between. The park's gates open at 6:00 and close at 18:00, and the Sheldrick nursery window is fixed at 11am to 12 noon, so the order is built around that clock.

The Listing Itinerary

A van collects you in Nairobi for the roughly 30-minute run to Nairobi National Park. The game drive is listed at 4 hours, then a 15-minute transfer reaches the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust for the 80-minute visit. From there a 15-minute drive leads to the optional Kazuri Beads Factory stop of 45 minutes and the optional 1-hour lunch at a local restaurant.

The Giraffe Centre visit is listed at 1.5 hours, then a 30-minute van run returns you to Nairobi. The listing does not print clock times for each stage, only durations.

Why the Sheldrick Window Shapes the Day

The Sheldrick nursery's public visit runs daily from 11:00 AM to 12:00 noon except December 25th, and it cannot be delayed or extended for late arrivals. Because the park gates open at 6:00 AM, a single morning can hold an early game drive and still reach the nursery through the KWS Mbagathi Gate on Magadi Road in time for the 11am slot. The 80-minute stop in the listing fits inside that hour window.

If the optional lunch and Kazuri stops are taken, the day stretches past the listed 6 hours.

Sources: Kenya Wildlife Service, Sheldrick Wildlife Trust.

The listing gives durations rather than clock times, so the Sheldrick slot is the only fixed anchor of the day.

  1. Pickup

    Collected in Nairobi

    A van collects you in Nairobi. The listing does not state a pickup time or excluded areas, so check availability for your hotel.

  2. Game drive

    4 hours in Nairobi National Park

    Guided game drive and wildlife viewing from the pop-up-roof van, listed at 4 hours. Entry is not included at $80 per adult non-resident.

  3. 11am

    Sheldrick elephant orphanage

    An 80-minute visit at the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, inside the Trust's fixed 11am to 12 noon public window. Entry is $20 per adult, cash.

  4. Optional

    Kazuri Beads and lunch

    An optional 45-minute workshop stop at Kazuri Beads and an optional 1-hour lunch at a local restaurant, both paid separately.

  5. Afternoon

    Giraffe Centre

    A 1.5-hour visit with feeding and a guided talk. Entry is $15 per adult, card or M-Pesa only.

  6. Return

    Back to Nairobi

    A 30-minute van transfer returns you to Nairobi.

A passenger photographing a giraffe from the open roof of a safari vehicle on a dirt track in Nairobi National Park

Photographing a giraffe through the roof hatch on a Nairobi National Park game drive. Photo: Queen Asali, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

What the Price Covers

The $40 is the transport and guiding. Every gate fee is yours to pay on the day, and the listing asks you to bring enough cash for all three.

Included on the Listing

The listing ticks four things: convenient pickup and drop-off, a professional tour guide, transportation in a safari vehicle with a pop-up roof, and bottled drinking water. An audio guide in English, French and Spanish is included. A live French or Spanish guide costs $15 per booking.

Reserve now and pay later is available, and cancellation is free up to 24 hours before the start.

Paid Separately, and One Conflict to Know

The listing says all three entry fees are paid in cash on the day: $80 per adult and $40 per child for the park, $20 per person for the elephant orphanage and $15 per person for the Giraffe Centre. The official picture differs. KWS has visitors pay park fees through the KWSPay portal, which takes M-Pesa, Visa card and bank transfer. The Giraffe Centre accepts only M-Pesa, Visa or Mastercard and states plainly that cash is not accepted. Only the Sheldrick visit is genuinely cash on the day at $20 per adult and $5 per child under 12. Bring cards and M-Pesa as well as cash, and confirm the payment method with the operator when you book. Check the current KWS rates yourself on KWSPay.

The Trust also books visitors only through its own office and says it does not accept bookings made through Viator, GetYourGuide or Tripadvisor. The tour includes the drive and the visit slot as its listing says. Ask the operator how the Sheldrick booking is secured before you pay.

LineIn the priceNotes
KWS park entryNo$80 per adult, $40 per child, non-residents. KWS takes payment on KWSPay, the listing says cash. Confirm with the operator.
Sheldrick orphanageNo$20 per adult, $5 per child under 12, cash on the day. The public visit runs 11am to 12 noon.
Giraffe CentreNo$15 per adult, about $7.50 per non-resident child. M-Pesa or card only, no cash.
Vehicle, guide, waterYesPop-up-roof safari van, professional guide, bottled water, Nairobi pickup and drop-off.
Audio guideYesEnglish, French and Spanish. Live French or Spanish guide $15 per booking.
Lunch and tipsNoFood, drinks and gratuities are not included. The optional lunch stop costs you directly.

Sources: Kenya Wildlife Service, Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, Giraffe Centre.

Visitors feeding Rothschild's giraffes from the raised platform at the Giraffe Centre in Lang'ata, Nairobi

The feeding platform at the Giraffe Centre in Lang'ata. Photo: Samwalton9, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Book It If, Skip It If

Book it if

  • you want the lowest listed price among three-stop days at $40 per person with an audio guide in English, French and Spanish
  • you want game drive, the 11am Sheldrick visit and the Giraffe Centre inside the listed 6 hours
  • you want a pop-up-roof vehicle with pickup, drop-off, guide and bottled water included, plus free cancellation up to 24 hours before

Skip it if

  • you need a guaranteed window seat or a small group, since the listing allows up to 100 people, so the Park, Elephants and Giraffes Shared Day runs at $35 with a 4.7 rating from 1,585 reviews
  • you use a wheelchair, since the listing is not suitable for people with mobility impairments and no minimum age is stated
  • you want a private vehicle for the three stops, so the Private Park, Elephants and Giraffes is a private 7-hour day at $100 per person

Who This Tour Rules Out

This is the cheapest three-stop day in the catalog, and the compromises are clear on the listing. Some travelers should book a different product.

The Stated Limits

The listing says the group can reach up to 100 people. That means a van convoy and no promise of a window seat, which matters in a park where you must stay in the vehicle. It is not suitable for people with mobility impairments, and no minimum age is stated either way.

The day is long for a 6-hour label once the two optional stops are added, and the $40 price sits next to a KWS park fee of $80 per adult that comes close to doubling the real bill. At 4.6 from 631 reviews the listing has solid volume, so the rating itself is not the problem.

What to Book Instead

If you want the same three stops with a smaller group, the Park, Elephants and Giraffes Shared Day runs shared at $35 with a 4.7 rating from 1,585 reviews. If you want the three stops with nobody else in the vehicle, the Private Park, Elephants and Giraffes is a private 7-hour 4x4 day at $100 per person. If you only care about the game drive, a half-day game drive skips the orphanage queues entirely.

Or compare the full range of Nairobi National Park safari tours before you decide.

A keeper in green overalls holding up a milk bottle for a young orphaned elephant at an elephant orphanage in Nairobi

Bottle time for a young orphan elephant in Nairobi. Photo: Elena.laps, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Pros and Cons

The honest trade-offs of the $40 listing, taken from the listing itself and the official fee rules.

What we genuinely like

  • The lowest listed price among the three-stop days at $40 per person, with free cancellation up to 24 hours before and reserve now, pay later.
  • Covers all three headline stops in one day, with the Sheldrick visit timed to the fixed 11am to 12 noon window.
  • Audio guide in English, French and Spanish included, and a live French or Spanish guide available for $15 per booking.
  • 4.6 rating from 631 reviews, the largest review base of the three-stop listings.
  • Pop-up-roof safari vehicle, guide and bottled water, with Nairobi pickup and drop-off included.

The honest downsides

  • The listing allows up to 100 people, so expect a van convoy and no guaranteed window seat.
  • Every entry fee is extra. The $80 adult park fee alone roughly triples the ticket price, and the listing conflicts with KWS on how the park fee is paid, saying cash where KWS uses KWSPay.
  • The listing states 6 hours, but with the optional Kazuri and lunch stops the day runs longer, closer to the 8 or 9 hours comparable three-stop days publish.
  • Not suitable for people with mobility impairments, and the exact pickup time and excluded areas are not stated on the listing.
  • The Sheldrick Trust books visitors only through its own office and says it does not accept platform bookings, so ask how the operator secures the slot.

Who it's NOT for: Not for travelers who want a guaranteed window seat, a small group, step-free access or a price that already holds the park fee.

Park Fee, Gates and What to Bring

Three things decide whether the day runs smoothly: the park fee paid ahead, the right cash and cards for the other stops, and a bag that suits an open-roof van.

Pay the KWS Fee Before the Day

Independent visitors pay KWS park fees through the KWSPay portal at kwspay.ecitizen.go.ke, which takes M-Pesa, Visa card and bank transfer through KCB, ABSA or Equity Bank. Nairobi National Park entry for non-residents is $80 per adult and $40 per child on the current KWS conservation fee schedule. The listing asks you to bring cash instead, which does not match how KWS takes payment.

Ask the operator whether they buy the tickets on KWSPay for the group or expect you to. The day uses the park's Langata-side gates, and the nursery is reached through the KWS Mbagathi Gate on Magadi Road.

Gates, Wildlife and Seasons

Gates open at 6:00 AM and close at 6:00 PM. The park covers 117 square kilometers and sits about 8 km from the Nairobi CBD by KWS's routing text. It hosts over 100 mammal species and four of the Big Five, with no elephants in the park.

The elephants of this day are the orphans at the Sheldrick nursery. Three resident lion prides live here, named Kingfisher, Athi and Mokoyet, and more than 400 bird species are recorded. KWS names July to December and December to March as high season for game viewing, and April to June as the low season when the long rains leave some tracks muddy.

Read more on gates, hours and getting there and the best time to visit.

What to Bring

KWS's visitor tips list clean drinking water, a camera, binoculars, sunscreen, insect repellent and sunglasses. Its general packing guidance adds layerable, loose-fitting, earth-toned clothing, a hat, lace-up shoes and a small medical kit. Carry cash for the Sheldrick $20, plus a card or M-Pesa for the Giraffe Centre, which refuses cash.

Single-use plastic is banned across all KWS parks, so bring a refillable bottle. In the park you must stay in the vehicle, keep at least 20 meters from wildlife, and the speed limit is 40 km/h.

Sources: Kenya Wildlife Service, Kenya Wildlife Service, Giraffe Centre.

Sheldrick Wildlife Trust: A Full Guide

The 11am public hour at the Sheldrick elephant nursery. Third-party video by Have Clothes, Will Travel. This site did not shoot it and has no relationship with the creator.

What Travelers Said

★★★★★ ★★★★★
it was a very lovely day and Frank our guide made it all so worthwhile! He was very friendly, knowledgeable and gave us lots of interesting facts about the animals. He took his time explaining the next step after every stop and he was very patient with us. The guide you get really makes the tour and Frank made it so enjoyable! The activity itself is a must do in Nairobi.. I enjoyed the safari way much more than I thought I would and the elephant orphanage and giraffe center were amazing! 10/10 I also loved dancing with the wonderful women at the bead centre...a core memory for me
Miss · Canada · October 29, 2026 · GetYourGuide review
★★★★★ ★★★★★
Excellent trip! Wonderful guide! Very accommodating to our schedule!
Anne · United States · October 27, 2026 · GetYourGuide review
★★★★★ ★★★★★
A recommended full day tour balanced with a Safari park, Elephant sanctuary, Rothschild Giraffe rehab center, a lunch stop and more. Timely and reliable hotel pickup then straight to the close by safari park, viewing animals in less than 45 minutes from hotel pickup. Great photo access from the raised roof on the safari vehicle and very close to the animals. Highly recommend this tour along with Kevin and Dennis our amazingly fun friendly driver -guides.
Dave · Egypt · October 26, 2026 · GetYourGuide review
★★★★★ ★★★★★
Great experience for a day trip. The guide - Jonathan - has a lot of knowledge and his friendliness made it key to transform this experience in an amazing one
Marcos · Portugal · October 25, 2026 · GetYourGuide review
★★★★★ ★★★★★
This was the highlight of my trip in Kenya, the guide was amazing, the tour was exceptional and the company was even better. Met some amazing people and we even did an extra tour to the bead and leather factory.
Joan · Nigeria · October 21, 2026 · GetYourGuide review

Questions About This Tour

How much does this Nairobi National Park and elephant orphanage tour cost in total?

The tour is $40 per person. On top come the park entry at $80 per adult and $40 per child, the Sheldrick visit at $20 per adult and $5 per child under 12, and the Giraffe Centre at $15 per adult. The full breakdown sits in the fee table.

Is the elephant orphanage in Nairobi worth it?

The Trust's nursery visit is a fixed one-hour window at 11am where you watch the orphaned herd's milk feed and mud bath, and it is the only way to see elephants on a day in this park, which has none. Entry is $20 per adult. Details are on the Sheldrick Trust's own page.

Is there an elephant orphanage in Nairobi National Park?

The Sheldrick Wildlife Trust nursery sits next to the park and is reached through the KWS Mbagathi Gate on Magadi Road, where visitors also pay the standard KWS park entry. This tour pairs the two, as described in How the Day Runs.

How long does the whole day really take?

The listing states 6 hours, which covers the 4-hour game drive, the 80-minute Sheldrick visit and the 1.5-hour Giraffe Centre stop with transfers. Take the optional Kazuri and lunch stops and the day runs longer, in line with the 8 or 9 hours comparable three-stop days publish. See the stage table.

What are the child prices for the orphanage and the Giraffe Centre?

The Sheldrick nursery charges $5 for children under 12 against $20 for adults, and the Giraffe Centre charges about $7.50 for a non-resident child against $15 for an adult. Children under 3 enter the Giraffe Centre free. Rates are on the Giraffe Centre FAQ page.

Do I pay all the fees in cash on the day?

The listing says cash for all three stops, but the official rules differ. KWS takes park fees through KWSPay by M-Pesa, card or bank transfer, and the Giraffe Centre accepts only M-Pesa or card and refuses cash. Only the Sheldrick $20 is genuinely cash. Read What the Price Covers before you set off.

Can I get a guide in French or Spanish?

Yes. An audio guide in English, French and Spanish is included, and a live French or Spanish-speaking guide costs $15 per booking. No other listing on our Nairobi National Park tour offers a language option.

Compare with

Read Next

If a shared three-stop day at $40 fits your plans, check the dates on Gracilie Ventures' listing and confirm the fee payments with the operator.

Free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund, with reserve now and pay later.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $40 per person Check Availability