Home › Guides › Nairobi Safari Walk: Fees, Animals and Timing
Nairobi Safari Walk: Fees, Animals and Timing
The Nairobi Safari Walk is a raised boardwalk through three habitats at the gate of Nairobi National Park, and it costs $25 (KES 405) for a non-resident adult to enter. Allow 1 to 2 hours, then add the Animal Orphanage next door or a game drive in the park itself.
Quick answer Fees, hours and the basics in one place
Entry to the Nairobi Safari Walk costs $25 (KES 405) per non-resident adult and $15 (KES 300) per child. You pay through eCitizen with M-Pesa or Visa. The boardwalk crosses 27 acres of wetland, savannah and forest and most people need 1 to 2 hours.
Key takeaways
- Compare every nairobi national park tour before you book
- See the current Giraffe Centre fees and hours nearby
- Read the things to do in Nairobi National Park guide
- Check the layover tour if you only have a stopover
How much does it cost to enter Nairobi Safari Walk?
Entry costs $25 (KES 405) for a non-resident adult and $15 (KES 300) for a child, the same fee scale as the Animal Orphanage.
Kenya Wildlife Service prices entry by visitor category, and the figures change when KWS updates its tariff. The table below brings every category into one place from the KWS fee sheet and park page.
Entry fees by category
The Safari Walk charges the same entry as the Nairobi Animal Orphanage next door. If you want both the main park and the Safari Walk, the Nairobi Package covers all three sites, and the Nairobi Sanctuary Package covers the Animal Orphanage and the Safari Walk without the park. Fees can change through official tariff updates, so confirm the current figure when you pay.
The Nairobi Package, which adds Nairobi National Park, is $105 (USD 105) per non-resident adult and $55 (USD 55) per child. The Nairobi Sanctuary Package, without the main park, is $40 (USD 40) per non-resident adult and $20 (USD 20) per child.
Sources: Kenya Wildlife Service, Kenya Wildlife Service.
Nairobi Safari Walk tickets online: how do you pay?
Entry fees are paid through eCitizen using M-Pesa or a Visa card, so buy before you arrive.
There is no separate Safari Walk ticket office system to learn. Kenya Wildlife Service routes payment through the government eCitizen platform.
Paying with M-Pesa or Visa
Entry fees are paid through eCitizen using M-Pesa or a Visa card. M-Pesa works for anyone with a Kenyan mobile money account, so visitors without one should plan on the Visa option. Have the payment confirmation on your phone for the gate.
If you book a guided tour that includes the Safari Walk, ask the operator whether your entry fee is inside the price or paid separately, because the tour price usually covers the vehicle and guide only.
What are the Nairobi Safari Walk opening hours, and is it open on Sunday?
KWS gates in the area open at 6:00 AM and close at 6:00 PM, and KWS does not state separate Safari Walk opening hours or Sunday hours.
The Safari Walk sits inside the Nairobi National Park and KWS headquarters area, so the park gate times frame your visit.
What KWS publishes
KWS gates open at 6:00 AM and close at 6:00 PM for Nairobi National Park. A specific daily opening time for the Safari Walk itself is not stated on the KWS Safari Walk page, and Sunday opening is not stated either. Since the site sits beside the park headquarters, plan on the 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM window and go early, when animals are most active before the heat of the day.
If your timing matters, for example on a Sunday afternoon, call KWS or ask your hotel to confirm before you set out.
Source: Kenya Wildlife Service.
What animals can you see on the Nairobi Safari Walk?
You can see white rhino, lion, leopard, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, hyena, crocodile, pygmy hippo, antelope and primates along the boardwalk.
This is not a wild game drive and not a normal zoo. It is a structured wildlife walk with interpretation boards, and reviewers describe it as a walk-through zoo where you can see animals closely.
The species list
KWS lists white rhino, lion, leopard, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, hyena, crocodile, pygmy hippo, antelope and primates as visible along the boardwalk, alongside more than 150 indigenous tree species. The site covers 27 acres of wilderness with animals such as antelopes and gazelles, and reviewers mention lions and a jaguar. Interpretation boards explain each habitat and species, which is why KWS positions the walk as a conservation education hub for schools, higher learning institutions and the general public.
| Animal | Where you are likely to meet it |
|---|---|
| White rhino | Savannah section |
| Lion and leopard | Fenced carnivore enclosures |
| Giraffe, zebra, antelope, gazelles | Open savannah acreage |
| Pygmy hippo and crocodile | Wetland area |
| Hyena and primates | Mixed habitat sections |
The boardwalk and the three habitats
The walk is built around a raised wooden boardwalk through three simulated habitats: wetland, savannah and forest. The boardwalk overlooks River Mokoyet and the rocky thickets of Nairobi National Park, so you get views of animals and of the park itself as you go.
Source: Kenya Wildlife Service.
Where is the Nairobi Safari Walk located?
It is on Lang'ata Road about 8 km from Nairobi CBD, beside the Nairobi National Park and KWS headquarters area.
The location is one of the walk's biggest draws, because it sits at the entrance gate to Nairobi National Park on the city side.
Getting there
The site is easily accessible from Nyayo National Stadium through Lang'ata Road, slightly past the Langata Army Barracks. A taxi or ride-hailing trip from the city centre covers roughly 8 km. If you use a ride-hailing app, check that the pin leads to Nairobi Safari Walk or KWS headquarters rather than deep into Nairobi National Park, because the two entrances are close but not the same.
The adjacent Gogo river sanctuary also offers a self-guided 1.5 km forest walk with views of Nairobi and the Ngong hills if you want more time on foot.
How long is the Nairobi Safari Walk?
Most visitors spend 1 to 2 hours on the 27-acre boardwalk, longer if they add the Animal Orphanage.
The walk covers 27 acres on a raised boardwalk, so the route itself is compact and flat.
Timing your visit
The route is not stated in kilometres, but 27 acres with interpretation boards suits a steady 1 to 2 hours at a relaxed pace. Add the Animal Orphanage next door and you have a half-day outing. Add a game drive in Nairobi National Park and you have a full day, which is what the combined Nairobi Package ticket is designed for.
Go in the morning. Animals are most active before the heat of the day, and the light is better for photographs.
Source: Kenya Wildlife Service.
Are snacks allowed in Nairobi Safari Walk?
KWS does not state a food or snack rule for the Safari Walk, so check with staff at the gate.
Searchers ask often whether food is allowed, but neither KWS nor the Safari Walk site publishes a written rule.
What to carry instead
Carry water, sun protection and comfortable shoes. The boardwalk is exposed in the savannah section, and mornings are cooler than midday. Because a written snack policy is not stated, keep any food packed away and ask at the gate before eating, since feeding or provoking animals is against the spirit of a conservation site.
Source: Kenya Wildlife Service.
Is the Nairobi Safari Walk good for kids?
Yes, the flat boardwalk, interpretation boards and close animal views make it one of the easiest wildlife outings in Nairobi for children.
KWS built the site as a conservation education hub for schools and the general public, which tells you the audience.
Why families like it
The raised wooden boardwalk keeps children off the ground and safe from the animals, while the enclosures put lions, a jaguar, a pygmy hippo and giraffes at close view. Interpretation boards turn the walk into a lesson without a guide, and school groups are a core audience for KWS here. The child entry price of $15 (USD 15) for non-residents keeps it affordable compared with a full game drive.
The site is small enough that a visit fits inside a morning, even with young children, and the River Mokoyet views give everyone a rest stop with a view.
Source: Kenya Wildlife Service.
Nairobi Safari Walk and Animal Orphanage: how does it compare with the park itself?
The Safari Walk is a 1 to 2 hour walk-through experience at the gate, while Nairobi National Park is a drive-through wilderness where you need a vehicle and pay more to enter.
Many visitors pair the two in one day, and the KWS Nairobi Package is priced exactly for that.
Walk versus drive
The Safari Walk costs $25 (USD 25) per non-resident adult. The Animal Orphanage, next door, charges the same. The walk gives you guaranteed close views of enclosures and interpretation, the park gives you free-ranging rhino, lions and plains game in open country.
For the full day, the Nairobi Package covering park, orphanage and Safari Walk costs $105 (USD 105) per non-resident adult, which undercuts paying separately. Families might choose the Sanctuary Package at $40 (USD 40) per adult and skip the drive.
| Experience | Time needed | Non-resident adult | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nairobi Safari Walk | 1 to 2 hours | $25 (USD 25) | Families, short visits, learning |
| Nairobi Animal Orphanage | About 1 hour | $25 (USD 25) | Close-up rescued animals |
Sources: Kenya Wildlife Service, Kenya Wildlife Service.
Can you visit Nairobi Safari Walk on a layover?
Yes, its location 8 km from the CBD makes it workable in a long layover, and the Animal Orphanage sits right beside it.
The Safari Walk is one of the few Nairobi wildlife experiences that fits a tight schedule.
Making the clock work
Because the site sits just off Lang'ata Road about 8 km from the city centre, a taxi from central Nairobi is short, and the walk itself takes only 1 to 2 hours. If you are coming from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, a private layover tour is the safer option. The Airport Layover Park Tour collects you on arrival, runs a 6-hour private day through the park and returns you for your flight.
Kenya requires most foreign visitors leaving the airport to hold an eTA applied for online before travel, so sort that before you fly if a walk on the ground is part of your plan.
Tours That Fit
These tours pair the park with the wildlife sites around the Safari Walk gate.
Nairobi National Park, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre Shared Day
Dawn game drive, the 11am baby-elephant hour at Sheldrick and the Giraffe Centre in one shared day. Park, orphanage and giraffe fees extra.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Rumaa Tours and Safaris Africa
Nairobi National Park 5-Hour 4x4 Safari with Pickup
The same five hours in an open-roof 4x4 rather than a van, with a stop at the Ivory Burning Site. Morning, afternoon or evening.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Eloquent Tours
Nairobi National Park Private Half-Day Tour, All Fees Included
A private five-hour drive where the listing puts all fees and taxes inside the price, with the black rhino the main target.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Rock Agama Tours
Nairobi National Park Night Safari with an Armed KWS Ranger
The park after dark with a spotlight and an armed KWS ranger. A new listing, and the $60 ranger fee is paid on top.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Golden Horn Adventures
Is Nairobi Safari Walk worth it?
Yes, if you want guaranteed close animal views, a flat family-friendly walk and a big saving against a full game drive, at $25 (KES 405) per non-resident adult.
It depends on what you want from your wildlife time in Nairobi.
Choose it when
Choose the Safari Walk when you have limited time, when you travel with children, or when you want interpretation boards and shade alongside your animal viewing. Reviewers who like it describe close sightings of lions and a jaguar on a compact site. Choose a game drive instead when you want free-ranging animals and open plains, and combine both if your budget stretches to the $105 (USD 105) Nairobi Package.
Guided options that cover several sites in one day start from $33 per person for a shared 5-hour park drive, while Nairobi National Park, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre Shared Day costs $35 per person and adds the orphanage and Giraffe Centre to a full day.
| Option | Price per person | Covers |
|---|---|---|
| Nairobi National Park 5-Hour 4x4 Safari with Pickup | $33 | Shared park game drive |
| Nairobi National Park, Elephant Orphanage and Giraffe Centre Shared Day | $35 | Park, Sheldrick nursery and Giraffe Centre |
| Nairobi National Park Private Half-Day Tour, All Fees Included | $194.81 | Private 4x4 with every fee inside the price |
| Nairobi National Park Night Safari with an Armed KWS Ranger | $300 | Private after-dark drive with a ranger |
Which one to choose
For a first Nairobi safari, a game drive is the park experience most people picture, and a shared half-day drive is the cheapest way in. A guided visit described as a landscaped zoo at the entrance gate to Nairobi National Park can be booked at $55 per person through some operators, which buys you transport and guiding on top of the walk itself. If your budget is small, buy your own eCitizen ticket and take a taxi.
If you want everything arranged, pick a tour and add the Safari Walk ticket separately at the gate.
Sources: Kenya Wildlife Service, Kenya Wildlife Service.
Nairobi Safari Walk Questions
How much does it cost to enter Nairobi Safari Walk?
A non-resident adult pays $25 (USD 25) and a child $15 (USD 15). Kenya residents pay KES 405 and KES 300. Details are on the things to do guide.
How long is the Nairobi Safari Walk?
The site covers 27 acres and most visitors take 1 to 2 hours. Add the Animal Orphanage next door for a half-day.
Are snacks allowed in Nairobi Safari Walk?
KWS does not state a snack rule for the site. Ask at the gate and keep food packed away while on the boardwalk.
Is Nairobi Safari Walk open on Sunday?
A specific Sunday opening time is not stated. The park gates open at 6:00 AM and close at 6:00 PM, so plan inside that window and confirm with KWS for a Sunday visit.
Nairobi Safari Walk and Animal Orphanage: can I do both on one ticket?
Yes. The Nairobi Sanctuary Package covers both without the main park and costs $40 (USD 40) per non-resident adult and $20 (USD 20) per child.
Is the Giraffe Centre close by?
Yes, the Giraffe Centre is listed among nearby attractions alongside the Animal Orphanage and the Sheldrick Wildlife Trust. See the Giraffe Centre fees and hours.
More Guides
- Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage Nairobi: The 11am Visit
The nursery visit in 2027 costs $20 per adult and runs 11am to noon daily. The Trust books by email only. Check dates.
- Things to Do in Nairobi National Park
Game drives from $33, the Black Rhino Sanctuary, Hippo Pools and 400 plus bird species in 2027. See the prices and compare tours.
- Giraffe Centre Nairobi: Fees, Hours and Feeding
Hand-feed Rothschild's giraffes in 2027. Entry is $15 (Ksh 1,500) for a non-resident adult, open 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM daily. See the prices.